Autumn conference 2015: What it has all been about for me

pizap.com14430259338641

So the Autumn conference has been and gone. And I had the most amazing two days. It was a privileged to meet to many Liberal Democrats like myself  who share the same views and passion for liberal values. Was also an amazing honour to have a few members approach me to say to say how much they enjoy reading my blog.

Never did I think in a million years would I have the confidence to stand up in front of hundreds of people and deliver my speech in the 2015 Election review. It was a terrifying but rewarding experience with many people coming up to me to say how well they think I did, even though I was absolutely terrified and thought I did really badly! With even Paddy Ashdown complementing on how well I did.

I even spoke in the policy session in the beginning of conference saying about how we should engage with members who want to vote and become involved in the policy making process  my using social media. But also how we could use online voting to allow members who are unable to make it to federal conference the opportunity to vote on Liberal Democrat polices.

During Saturday evening who came up to me to say hello? It was only Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron. It was amazing to have the opportunity to meet him and talk to him about why I joined the party. He is such a kind man who is doing an amazing job as leader. That is one meeting i’m not likely to forget in a hurry.

It was also nice to see Paddy Ashdown work his DJ skills at the Lib Dem disco. Which was a fun night had by all!

Then when I came back for the last day of conference. I met three Liberal Democrat legends. Norman Lamb, Tom Brake and Nick Clegg (Even though it was for two seconds and he didn’t have time to have a photo with me). Norman and Tom were both very lovely.

Tim Farrons speech was both inspiring and liberating. Never have I seen a speech with so much  passion and drive. And yes I admit, I did have a little cry at the end of Tims speech. Tims speech really shows that we will always be needed within British politics.

The highlight of conference for me was the fact I got to meet many youths like myself who have a keen interest in politics and the future of our country. And the fact I am also now the proud owner of my very own Liberal Democrat clipboard.

This conference was such an amazing and rewarding experience. I look forward to the many conferences to come.

The Lib Dem fightback has well and truly began and this conference was just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

